Furla Art Award VIII

Pleure qui peut, rit qui veut

The eighth edition consolidated the new format introduced with the previous Award and collaborated with the Arizona State University for the artist-in-residence programme

Patron artist Christian Boltanski chose to call the eighth edition of Premio Furla Pleure qui peut, rit qui veut [Cry if you can, laugh if you want to]. Boltanski’s image of the 2011 edition contains two poles within a single oscillation: laughing and weeping, but also wanting and being able, in a single figure.
The projects of the five finalists – Alis/Filliol, Francesco Arena, Rossella Biscotti, Matteo Rubbi and Marinella Senatore – and a selection of their works were presented to the public in an exhibition showcased in Bologna’s Palazzo Pepoli. The winner Matteo Rubbi enjoyed the opportunity to exhibit his artwork solo at Fondazione Querini Stampalia during the 54th Venice Biennale. Furthermore, Rubbi spent a period of time at the Arizona State University Art Museum as part of the artist-in-residence programme.
Once again, Premio Furla cast itself as an authoritative occasion of growth and visibility for the newer generation of curators, also in charge of choosing the finalists based on an insightful voyage through the emerging Italian art scene and an exchange between different professional experiences.


Group exhibition of the finalist artists

Palazzo Pepoli, Bologna
29 January – 6 February 2011

Solo exhibition of the winner

Matteo Rubbi: Viaggio in Italia
Fondazione Querini Stampalia, Venice
3 June – 18 September 2011


Guiding artist

Christian Boltanski

Selecting curators

Lorenzo Bruni and Carson Chan
Cecilia Canziani and Vincent Honoré
Alfredo Cramerotti and Emily Pethick
Vincenzo De Bellis and Philippe Pirotte
Simone Menegoi and Marianne Lanavère

Scientific committee

Chiara Bertola
Giacinto Di Pietrantonio
Gianfranco Maraniello
Viktor Misiano

Share this on