Furla Art Award II

The Art Is A Fifth Element

The second edition of Premio Querini-FURLA per l’arte was fuelled by the success and excellent result of the previous year’s debut prize conceived to support new emerging artists living in Italy

Curated by Chiara Bertola, in collaboration with Giacinto Di Pietrantonio and Angela Vettese, the 2001 edition of Premio Querini-FURLA per l’arte followed the same format of the first edition, launched the previous year with great success.
An exciting newcomer on the fervent Italian contemporary art scenario, Premio Querini-FURLA per l’arte for art was quick to gain acclaim and esteem for the way it conducted a meticulous and in-depth research of the artistic scene throughout Italy. Ten critics nominated five names each, for a total of 50 names, that were later re-examined by a second national jury based on materials such as videos, slides and writings. The final shortlist of five artists – Massimo Bartolini, Lara Favaretto, Margherita Manzelli, Sabrina Torelli and Vedova-Mazzei – showed their works in a collective exhibition held at Fondazione Querini Stampalia in Venice in May 2001. Another international jury, made up of museum curators, artists and critics, finally decided the prize winner – Lara Favaretto.
To further underline the cultural aspects of the prize, every year a renowned artist participates in the event, to outline the graphics of communication, serving as the godfather of baptism. In 2001, it was Ilya Kabakov.


Group exhibition of the finalist artists

Fondazione Querini Stampalia, Venice
18 March – 13 May 2001


Guiding artist

Ilya Kabakov

Selecting critics

A Titolo group
Dede Auregli
Luca Cerizza
Gigiotto Del Vecchio
Teresa Macrì
Cloe Piccoli
Bartolomeo Pietromarchi
Sergio Risaliti
Gianni Romano
Sabrina Zannier

Scientific committee

Chiara Bertola
Giacinto Di Pietrantonio
Angela Vettese

Share this on